This comparison is written by the Fleetwire team, so read it with that in mind. We've kept it honest, including where FleetHQ is the better fit.
TL;DR
- Choose Fleetwire if you run 1–15 vehicles and want the lowest published price ($24/mo vs $119/mo billed yearly, or $34 vs $149 monthly), a 14-day trial, a storefront you can build yourself today, or you rent trailers, campers, boats or golf carts as well as cars.
- Choose FleetHQ if you want renter insurance sold at checkout (Bonzah, Inshur), criminal background checks, an AI support agent for renters, or a team that builds your website for you, and the higher starting price is worth it to you.
At a glance
| Fleetwire | FleetHQ | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (monthly billing) | $34/mo for 5 vehicles; $89 for 15 | $149/mo (Starter, up to 15 cars) |
| Starting price (annual billing) | $24/mo for 5 vehicles; $69 for 15 | $119/mo (Starter) |
| Larger fleets | $279/mo for up to 150 vehicles ($239 annual) | $249/mo for up to 75 cars ($199 annual); custom above 75 |
| Free trial | 14 days, no credit card, full Premium features | 7 days, no credit card |
| Setup fee | None | None |
| Booking website | Hosted storefront you build yourself, same day; embeds and a WordPress plugin | Included; their team builds it, live within 3 business days |
| Turo calendar sync | One-way: Turo trips import and block your storefront. Direct bookings are not pushed to Turo | Advertised as two-way and real time; how it writes to Turo is not stated* |
| Renter ID verification | Yes (Stripe Identity), all plans | Yes (their pages name both Stripe Identity and Modives) |
| Renter insurance verification | Yes (Axle), all plans | Yes (Modives) |
| Insurance sold to renters at checkout | — | Yes (Bonzah, Inshur) |
| Criminal background checks | — | Yes (Professional plan) |
| Security deposits as card holds | Yes, all plans | Yes |
| eSign rental agreements | Yes (Standard+), with ESIGN/UETA consent and a tamper-evident signing certificate | Yes, all plans |
| AI support agent for renters | — | Yes ("Sadie") |
| Vehicle types | Cars, campers and RVs, trailers and equipment, boats, golf carts | Cars |
| Mobile app | Android (iPhone in review) | Not stated* |
| API, webhooks, Zapier | Yes (API and webhooks on Premium) | Not stated* |
| Payments | Stripe or Square | Stripe |
| Contract | Month-to-month, cancel anytime | No contract, cancel anytime |
The fit difference in one paragraph
This one is closer than most of our comparisons. FleetHQ leans done-for-you: its team builds your website, it sells insurance to renters at checkout, runs background checks and answers renters with an AI agent, at a starting price of $149/mo. Fleetwire leans self-serve and priced for small fleets: you build and publish your own storefront the day you sign up, from $24/mo, with ID, insurance and deposit checks on every plan, and the same platform covers trailers, campers, boats and golf carts. If you have three cars and want to be live tonight, that gap matters. If you want the extras bundled and someone else to set it up, FleetHQ is a reasonable choice.
Where Fleetwire wins
1. A lower price for small fleets. Up to 5 vehicles is $34/mo on Fleetwire against $149/mo on FleetHQ's Starter plan (monthly billing). At 15 vehicles it's $89 against $149. Over a year, a 5-car host on monthly billing saves about $1,380.
2. Twice the trial. Fleetwire's trial is 14 days with every Premium feature turned on. FleetHQ's is 7 days.
3. Live the same day, on your own. You add vehicles, connect Stripe and publish your storefront in one sitting, with no wait for a design team. FleetHQ quotes up to 3 business days for its team-built site.
4. Plain answers about Turo. Turo doesn't offer hosts a public API for their calendars. Fleetwire imports Turo trips so they block your storefront, and we tell you plainly that direct bookings aren't pushed back to Turo. FleetHQ advertises two-way, real-time sync but doesn't say how it writes to Turo. Ask before you rely on it (see the FAQ).
5. More than cars. The same account handles trailers, campers, boats, golf carts and equipment, with mileage rules and cleaning fees. FleetHQ is built for cars.
6. Agreements that hold up. Fleetwire's e-sign flow records ESIGN/UETA consent, seals each signed agreement with a SHA-256 hash and issues a signing certificate, which helps when a renter disputes a charge.
Where FleetHQ is genuinely stronger
Fair is fair:
- Insurance sold to renters. Through Bonzah and Inshur, renters without their own coverage can buy an on-rental plan at checkout, including coverage for gig drivers. Fleetwire verifies a renter's own insurance but doesn't sell a policy.
- Background checks. FleetHQ's Professional plan adds criminal background checks. Fleetwire checks ID and insurance, not criminal history.
- An AI agent for renters. FleetHQ's "Sadie" answers routine renter questions around the clock and hands off the rest.
- A website built for you. If you'd rather not build anything, FleetHQ's team designs the site from your branding.
- Price from 16 to 75 cars. At $249/mo (or $199 annual) for up to 75 cars, FleetHQ's Professional plan costs less than Fleetwire's Premium if you need more than 15 vehicles.
If renter insurance at checkout, background checks or a done-for-you website are what you need, or you run 16 to 75 cars on price alone, FleetHQ may be the better fit. If you want the lowest price for a small fleet, a longer trial and a storefront you can publish yourself today, that's who Fleetwire is for.
Switching to Fleetwire
We'll migrate your vehicles, customer list, and calendar for free on Standard and Premium plans, usually within a day or two. Book a 20-minute demo and we'll build your storefront live on the call, with your branding, before you commit to anything. Or skip the call and start a free trial; the storefront you build is yours to keep through the trial.
FAQ
How much does FleetHQ cost?
As of October 2026, FleetHQ's pricing page lists Starter at $149/mo ($119/mo billed annually) for up to 15 cars, Professional at $249/mo ($199 annually) for up to 75 cars, and custom Enterprise pricing above that, with a 7-day trial. Its plan comparison table shows different vehicle limits (5 and 20), so confirm with FleetHQ. Fleetwire is $24 for 5 vehicles, $69 for 15 and $239 for 150 per month billed yearly ($34, $89 and $279 month to month), with a 14-day trial and no card.
Is FleetHQ the same as HQ Rental Software?
No. FleetHQ (fleethq.io) is a separate company focused on Turo hosts and independent car rental operators. HQ Rental Software (hqrentalsoftware.com) is a traditional agency system. See our Fleetwire vs HQ Rental Software comparison for that one.
Can any software write bookings to my Turo calendar?
Turo doesn't offer hosts a public API for their calendars, so reading Turo trips is the easy direction and writing to Turo is the hard one. If a tool says it blocks dates on Turo for you, ask how: whether it needs your Turo login, a browser extension, or a partner agreement with Turo, and what happens when Turo changes its site. Fleetwire imports Turo trips and doesn't write to Turo, so block direct bookings on Turo yourself if a car is listed on both.
Does Fleetwire offer renter insurance or background checks?
Fleetwire verifies a renter's license with Stripe Identity and their own insurance with Axle on every plan. It doesn't sell insurance to renters or run criminal background checks. If you need those built in, FleetHQ offers both.
Which is better for a Turo host with a few cars?
For 1–15 cars, Fleetwire costs less ($34 or $89/mo against $149) and has a longer trial, and Turo trips block your storefront automatically. FleetHQ is worth a look if you want insurance sold to renters at checkout or a website built for you.
How long does it take to switch to Fleetwire?
Most operators are live on Fleetwire the same day. Free migration is included on Standard and Premium plans and typically takes a day or two.
FleetHQ details referenced from fleethq.io (pricing, FAQ, Turo calendar sync, ID verification, insurance verification, payment and AI agent pages), checked 2026-10-29. FleetHQ is a trademark of its owner; all comparisons are based on publicly available information as of October 2026 and may change, so confirm with FleetHQ directly. Spot an inaccuracy? Email hi@fleetwire.io and we'll fix it.
*Not stated on FleetHQ's public pages as of October 2026. Confirm with FleetHQ directly.

